In some countries, it is possible for the people to have access to a variety of food that has been transported from all over the world.

Do the benefits of imported food outweigh its drawbacks?

In this era of globalization, people of several nations have options to eat a food that is originated in foreign. It was shown that in past that, every new trend come with its positives and negatives.This essay will discuss both and provides my opinion in the conclusion.

To begin with, by importing food that has been prepared at far distance have several advantages. First, people can get a authentic taste of the food which fulfill the people's need of different cuisines without visiting originated place. For example, a person can eat a Chinese noodles by sitting in backyard of house in New York. Moreover, it is difficult to get a ingredients, recipe and proper atmosphere to prepare a food. Hence, the import is the only option if one have to try foreign food. For example, It is impossible to prepare Parmesan cheese at every place. It can only be prepared at certain environment and ingredients.

On the other hand, importing food have devastating effect on local food culture as people become more dependent on overseas food. As a result, demand of local cuisines would get affected and it became true for Iran where bakery food items became obsolete as result of imported bakery product from China. Furthermore, people may have adverse effect on their health by consuming packaged food as preservatives are required to keep food fresh which could not be health friendly sometimes. Recent study by world organization reported that, In 2021, 20 percent of people might get obesity related problems by eating imported preserved food.

To recapitulate, there several positives that came in to existence by imported food but overall effect of imported food have more disadvantages to the society