In some countries, marriages are arranged by the parents but in other cases, people choose their own marriage partner. Discuss both systems
The idea that a marriage should be arranged by the parents of the couple, or by other
members-of the family, is quite acceptable to some societies, yet completely out of
the question for others. It all depends on your cultural expectations.
In so-called western societies, it is very unusual for marriages to be arranged.
Most young people would not welcome the idea that their parents have the right to
choose their partner for life. They feel that arranged marriages deny them their
fundamental right to choose, even if they make a bad decision.
However, if we are honest about it, we might acknowledge that some parents organise
their children's lives in such a way that they are likely to meet and marry
partners the parents approve o£ It could be
said that this is, to some extent, similar to an arranged marriage. It is always better
when families support the relationship and welcome the grandchildren.
People for whom arranged marriages are the cultural norm often argue that the
likelihood of the marriage lasting is greater when it is set up in this manner. Parents
can be assured that their children are joining a family of similar standing and cultural
background, and this, in the long run, makes for a more stable society if your parents' marriage was arranged,
and has worked well, then why should you question the custom?
The important thing to ensure is that people are never forced into a marriage which will
make them unhappy or lead to an unequal relationship where one partner
is exploited by the other. This applies in all societies and situations.