In some countries, people prefer to rent a house for accommodation, while in other countries people prefer to buy their own house. Does renting a house have more advantages or disadvantages than buying a house?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Shelter, along with food and clothing is an essential necessity in life. Due to cultural difference and preferences, people either rent or own a home. Some argue that there owning a residential place has more disadvantages than leasing it, I disagree to this statement. This essay will discuss it as an asset and also the freedom to move around while being a tenant along with relevant examples.

On the one hand, there is ample evidence that purchasing a place to stay has more monetary benefits. The central reason for this is two fold, primarily, it is cheaper than renting a home overtime. The amount of payments made for a home loan is almost equivalent or cheaper for a lifetime of housing expense. Secondly, it is an appreciating asset which could be useful to mortgage in case of any emergency. To illustrate this, according to a survey by IMF, loan against property is the most disbursed loan surpassing personal and educational loan across the globe. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that besides being entitled with a property, it buying a house can help one economically.

On the other hand, although there is a case for house acting as an asset, renting a residence does not burn a hole in savings over period of time. One is free from the liability to maintain a house which could hamper an individual’s bank balance. In addition to this, it liberates one thought to be stuck at one place and encourage to move around different places and live. Thus, it is possible to state that in order to lead a fulfilling life and not spend on repairs, it one should hire an apartment or a building.

To conclude, despite its disadvantages of having a psychological impact to root an individual in one place, in my opinion the monetary benefits along with security that having own accommodation eclipses the drawbacks associated.