In some countries, students pay their college or university fees, while in some others, the government pay for them. Do you think the advantages of using government money to pay for college and university fees outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many governments around the world provide financial aid for college students, while in other places, students must pay their own tuition and expenses. In this essay, I will examine both the merits and demerits of this trend as well as provide my own perspective, which believes the drawbacks are far more significant.

On the one hand, using government money to cover university and college fees brings about certain advantages. In the first place, it creates more opportunities for people to pursue higher education. This is because not everyone, especially lower income ones, can afford the exorbitant price tag of college these days. Therefore, by providing free tertiary education, the government can allow potential prospects to achieve their full potential, which will lead to a better workforce in the future. Another incentive worth mentioning is that a highly-educated society will have less crime, since people are busy working, learning, or also understand the negative consequences of crime. Take the Scandinavian countries as an example, their free education program have seen tremendous success, and their citizens feel happy and safe living there.

On the other hand, using national budget to pay for students' fees and tuition also has several drawbacks. Firstly, it can lower the academic performance of students. The reason is that if students are not financially responsible for their own tuition, they might feel no pressure to do well in school. For instance, in the United States, statistics have shown that out-of-state students tend to achieve higher GPA than those who receive financial aid and grants from the government. Furthermore, using public money to cover college and university fees might adversely affect other aspects of society. Since college tuition is becoming more and more expensive, other public services such as healthcare, social security, and welfare might suffer as a result.

In conclusion, the notion of government paying college and university fees has both advantages and disadvantages. However, I firmly believe that the drawbacks of lower quality of education and budget deficit greatly surpass the benefits. It is recommended that the government should only provide scholarships for those who deserve it to get the most out of that money.