In some countries, teenagers have jobs while they are still students. Do you think this is a good idea? Support your opinion by using specific reasons and details.

In some parts of the world, adolescents are working at the same time they are completing their studies. In my opinion, I firmly believe that it can have a detrimental influence on their curriculums, but also on their future careers and personal development.

The first reason for this is that it may be extremely difficult to cope with a job while studying at high school or during the first years of university, school years that are generally quite demanding in terms of dedication and time spent in class. In order to be able to attend his work, the student may have to skip some classes, leading to a fall in his result, complicating the access to higher studies, and finally jeopardizing a career according to his capacities.

Additionally, as the teenagers are working, they are becoming more independent and they earn their own salary. As a consequence, they will experience a false sensation of early achievements in comparison with their counterparts who are still at school, encouraging them to drop out of school. Moreover, as they feel autonomous, they may be tempted to start a family prematurely without having the maturity required, compromising definitely successful studies and their personal development in the society.

To summarize, while teenagers’ employment is widespread in some regions of the world, I would strongly object that it may produce a negative impact on young peoples’ education as they may abandon their studies and consequently it may also affect their personal lives as they may enter in adulthood too early. In order to keep the youth at school, the parents and governments should push to enforce laws prohibiting child labour and compulsory education.