What are the advantages and disadvantages of co-education?

For the last decades, there has been a push toward mixed-education. While teaching boys and girls in the same classroom has brought many benefits in terms of gender equality and, it presents also some drawbacks as different genders may have different needs.

On the one hand, the benefits of co-education are numerous. Firstly, it promotes equal opportunities between different sexes: the students have the same teachers and programs and are in the same classroom, ensuring an even quality of teaching regardless of their gender. Secondly, mixing student favours a social inclusion of the girls in the society as it helps both sexes to better know and understand each other through continuous interactions. In a mixed environment, schoolboys and schoolgirl are not perceiving the opposite sex as an alien but another student.

On the other hand, mixed-sex schooling presents some drawbacks. To begin with, as different gender may have specific needs, boys and girls are not growing at the same pace. For instance, females generally reach their puberty earlier than males. As a consequence they tend to be mature before, potentially creating a gap in the same classroom. Moreover, co-education can lead to some abuses from one gender toward the other. For example, it is not infrequent to have groups of schoolboys bullying or mocking female individuals or groups of schoolgirls. This could be solved with a better promotion of sexual equality at school.

In conclusion, while there are multiple pros and cons of mixed-sex schooling, I firmly believe that boys and girls should be educated together in order to ease their future social integration and the future social relations between both sexes.