Compare the advantages and disadvantages of Smart phones

All around the world, mobile phones are increasingly present in our lives. Those electronic devices connected to other devices or other networks are nowadays a crucial communication tool for work, leisure, studies and many aspects of our existence. If the emergence of smartphones has eased interconnected communications is some ways, it has also brought many changes in our way to communicate with others as well as in our relation with this device itself. Both the benefits and the drawbacks will be discussed hereafter.

The advantages of using a smartphone for communication are obvious: first of all, with on only gadget, one can easily have access to the telephone network, the internet, the social media, his favorite music and pictures. That means that it can advantageously replace a telephone, a DVD player, a GPS and even a computer for most of user’s level tasks, without the need for several devices. Secondly, all these applications and functionalities fit in a small portable device that can be carried in a handbag or a pocket. As a consequence, that high portability enables its user to execute diverse works pretty much everywhere without having to be at home or at the office. Finally the performances and the prices of the smartphones are improving every day, making these high-technology gadgets affordable for everyone.

On the other hand, as mobile phones are omnipresent in our lives, they have strongly altered the way of socializing. When users are connected on their handset, they are disconnected from their surrounding environment, forgetting to communicate with the ones who are around them and impacting face to face dialogue. It is not infrequent in a restaurant to see all the guests around a table focusing on their smartphones without speaking with the others. Additionally, the central role of cellular phones for all sort of daily applications has led to some addictions, as some people cannot stand the idea of living even a few minutes without their smartphone.

In conclusion, there are many pros and cons associated to the use of a mobile phone. However, in my opinion, I believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks, as this is a very efficient tool for modern communication; nonetheless one has to be wary of not overusing it in order not to jeopardize face to face relationships and not to give too much importance to a simple tool.