In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

These days, there is an ongoing debate on whether high school graduates should take a year off before joining college. A gap year is a break from formal education and a controlled environment that is otherwise monotonous and exhausting. In many countries, people often persuade youngsters to take a break year before embarking on their formal university education. This recent trend has numerous benefits and a few drawbacks, which will be discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, the year break gives the students a great time to make an informed choice concerning the career option that learners plan to pursue with passion. By working or traveling before joining the universities, students can work in the fields of their interests or visit places or people who are already in those fields, thereby gaining more knowledge about their life calling. One of my friends worked as a salesman, content writer, and even secretary to a pro manager before finalizing a content writing-related course in university. In addition, these experiences of working and traveling force a person to manage their own time, money, and safety. As a result, students become more organized and responsible as parents do not assist them.

On the other hand, there are several drawbacks that people should take into consideration. Firstly, students who take a break and start working may find it challenging to maintain their distance from monetary benefits leading to conflict between academic priorities and work-related responsibilities. Even people who have traveled may find it difficult to focus back on their studies. Secondly, working or traveling at a young age may make students susceptible to accidents or health issues. One of my batch-mates met an accident when delivering that did not allow him to pursue a career in the military.

In conclusion, a gap year brings about certain advantages, but its negative consequences should not be overlooked.