In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to to this.

Taking a gap year between high school graduation and university enrollment has become a popular trend among young people in many countries. However, whether students should travel or work before starting universities remains a controversial question. In this essay, both advantages and disadvantages of this issue will be discussed in details.

On the bright side, working or travelling before starting universities can give students invaluable experience. While students who pass directly from high school to universities are usually restricted in terms of general knowledge and experience of the whole world, those who choose to take a gap year can broaden their horizons and have better personal resources to draw on. They also tend to be more self-independent and ready to cope with challenges and overcome setbacks. Hence, when attending university education, those students will be more self-discipline in their studies and achieve greater triumphs. In addition, owing to their excessive exposure to real life, students can get a clearer perspective of their career path; therefore, they can choose suitable majors and jobs which match their interests and personalities.

On the other hand, long interval in schools can have certain disadvantages. After taking a gap year, students’ study skills may be diminished, which makes it harder for them to readapt to the academic environment. This is particularly true for mathematic or physics students, or any courses that require complex theorical processes and techniques which are not common outside the classrooms. Moreover, it can break the rythms of studies. As a consequence, students may end up not wanting to return to formal education. Unfortunately, this can worsen their career prospects because without academic qualifications, it is nearly impossible to find a good job or a successful career.

In conclusion, there are both merits and demerits to taking a year gap after high school. This can be beneficial for students who resume their studies with renewed vigor after the break. However, it is detrimental for those who fail to continue their studies.