In some countries young people have little leisure time and are under a lot of pressure to work hard in their studies.What do you think are the cause of this?What solutions can you suggest?

Attaining good education in many countries is the prime criteria for a rewarding career thus young people devote most of the time on their studies and least on leisure activities. In my opinion expectations and lack of better opportunities are the pivotal causes. In the below paragraphs I will elucidate on these causes and would suggest possible solutions.

Firstly it is a well-known fact that from primary school till the tertiary education adolescents are put under a lot of pressure as their guardians and mentors have a huge expectation from them. Due to this, the young children are under immense pressure to perform well, therefore, put strenuous efforts to score well in the exams. This involves devoting most of the time in studies and avoiding leisure activities. For instance, in India, many students in a poll conducted on Economic Times voted for an expectation of higher grades from parents and teacher to be a major reason for a lot of pressure. Additionally, another cause is limited number of opportunities in developing countries like India, Srilanka therefore for getting an admission in the top-universities one has to put in hard work and let go of leisure activities. For example in India according to a recent published article many students aspire to study in a prestigious institute like IIT but only a 3000 students get a chance to study out of millions every fall.

Alternatively there can be some solutions which can help to eradicate these problems. First and foremost teachers and guardians must play a positive role in lowering the pressure on children to study moreover they should encourage them to do outdoor sport activities. Apart from this government should encourage the tertiary institutes to consider both educational and part-time activity credentials while providing admissions to prestigious institutes. This will help maintain a balance between the work and leisure activities.