Some employers believe that job applicants' social skills are more important than their academic qualifications. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

This is a fact that competition among people to hold higher ranked positions in the companies is ever increasing. It is thought by managers that social skills of candidates are more significant compared to their educational background. While i believe that practical experience and skills of new comers has profound importance for company, qualification of employees can not be underestimated.

On the one hand. Most of the organizations choose employees who are skilled, experienced and adaptable to changing workplace context. First of all, hiring dedicated and consistent people contributes in the expansion of business as if employees would work with determination in the company, it will boost profitability level of the enterprise. Moreover, experienced employees have excellent decision making skills which allows them to complete each task within deadlines which result in increasing sales of firm. Secondly, In today’s contemporary era social skills such as communication skills are much more demanding as without communication effectively company can not run its business smoothly. So, majority of companies prefer to attract those candidates for job positions who are self- motivated and confident. Finally, for building a good customer base it is extremely significant to make strong relationships with end users as business grow when clients are happy and satisfied. Therefore, customer service is the fundamental duty of employees to convince and retain customers for a long time. Therefore, interacting with consumers allows business to expand.

On the other hand, educated employees are an asset for a business. First of all, in today’s contemporary era only those proprietors can survive who has more expert and well qualified workforce as educated employees can make effective use of modern technology by using innovative methods to do business activities. That is why, people studying business related courses come up with various solutions and techniques. In addition to this, literate workers are capable to adopt new changes in the company easily, so merely social skills are not preferable and employer must consider a person academically before making part of the company.

To conclude, Although i believe that real life interactions plays a important role in expanding the company, i also support that education must be the first priority and hiring manage must consider it during onboarding process.