some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more disadvantages than advantages?

In today’s competitive world, employers want to be able to contact their employees no matter where they are in order to maintain smooth operations. This approach may have many positives, but it does have a few negatives as well.

To start with, it is important to be able to contact an employee especially during difficult times at work on in case of an emergency. For example, hospitals need to be able to contact their staff in case of patient emergencies, trauma and calamities. This may help save a life or many lives. In times of troubleshooting certain tasks, a phone call or email may save a presentation, project or win a deal for an organization). Certain organizations, call centres for instance, need their staff on-call throughout the year. Any failure to do so may lead to loss of business and revenue.

Contacting employees does not always benefit employers. To begin with, no employee likes to be contacted by their employer when they are at home or on holiday. This may invoke a feeling of resentment towards the employer. Some individuals are forced to work round the clock. They even take their work home. This leads to overworking, which may further lead to health risks and other related issues. Moreover, the employee may feel unhappy at his workplace and may even consider seeking job opportunities elsewhere. No employer benefits from an unhappy workforce as it may affect the growth and success of an organization.

In conclusion, contacting an employee may prove fruitful in certain situations, it may have a bearing on employee happiness and health. It could even lead to attrition.