Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more disadvantages than advantages?

Technology is improving the way of communication and many organizations want to take the benefit of this advancement to bridge the gaps of connectivity between employees. It is believed by some managers that they should be able to contact their staff every moment they want to. In my opinion, this development has more benefits as compared with drawbacks.

On one positive side, some employees being accessible have many considerable advantages which are vital for the society. For instance, medical or nursing professionals should always be ready to attend to the emergencies that occur in order to save people's life regardless of holidays. In this case, the main advantage is they could play an important role in saving lives. Another benefit of working on holidays for the employees is that they get paid for their work or overtime, resulting in contribute monthly income of the workers. Furthermore, when a service agent or sales representative is unable to be contacted for costumer's inquires, it is likely that costumers will become unsatisfied and subsequently discouraged. For this mentioned reason, it is said that keeping constant contact could improve costumer service's quality

On the negative side, the personal life of an employee is affected as the employee has to dedicate more time to his job. Contacting employees all the time can hinder their private life and other activities. This sometimes results in a stressful life and frustration with the company. In the majority of the cases, employees prefer to shift their jobs because of the inability to handle the pressure of presence all the time. A survey revealed that the persuading employees to be present all-time for an organization has adverse impacts on their family life balance.

In conclusion, despite negative impacts on the family and social culture, I believe that contacting employees all the time has more advantages for the organization as well as for the employee.