Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more disadvantages than advantages?

Technology is improving the way of communication and many organizations wants to take the benefit of this advancement to bridge the gaps of connectivity between employees. It is believed by some managers that they should be able to contact their staff every moment they want to. In my opinion this development has more benefits as compared with drawbacks.

On the positive side, availability of employees all time can directly benefits the organization in terms of outcome. The communication between employees will be strong to put better results as a team. Employees can clear their doubt at any time without delaying and their problems can be solved which will directly improve the output of organization. For instance, online WhatsApp group between company teams is very common these days to discuss the concern regarding shop floor activities and questions. Therefore, these benefits are to drive a unity in team and improved the outcome of all employees which directly benefits the organization.

On the negative side, personal life of an employee is affected as employee has to dedicate more time to his job. Contacting employees all the time can hinder their private life and other activities. This sometimes results into stressful life and frustration with the company. In majority of the cases employees prefer to shift their jobs because of inability of handle pressure of presence all the time. A survey revealed that the persuading employees to be present all time for organization has adverse impacts on their family life balance.

In conclusion, despite of negative impacts on the family and social culture, I believe that contacting employees all the time has more advantages for the organization as well as for employee.