Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more disadvantages than advantages?

Technology is improving the way of communication and many organizations want to take an advantage of it to fill the gap of connectivity between employees.It can have impacts in both ways,particularly for some it can be benificial.This development has both advantages and disadvantages

Firstly,people who are involved in a professional fields like medical or nursing should always be ready to attend an emergency calls to save a patient's life regardless of holidays.In this case,the main advantage is it helps in saving lives of many.Another advantage of employees working on holidays is they are getting paid for whatever amount of work has been done on an hourly basis.Particularly,corporate companies give such benefits and after over time,an employee is entitled to take leaves also.Furthermore,people associated with an IT field can work from anywhere and solve queries of the clients even during holidays.They do not need to go to the office for client meetings or any other correspondence.

On the other side,personal life of an employee gets affected as the employee has to dedicate more time to his job.For very urgent projects or say deadlines,it becomes a compulsion to solve the queries of clients where an employee can not deny even if during holidays.This at the end results in a stressful life and a frustration with a company.In most of the cases,employees prefer to change their job due to the work pressure they handle during leave.This has an adverse impact on work-life balance in overall.

In conclusion,ultimately a company should decide a middle way to overcome this situation in a way that work-life balance does not get suffer and an employee can enjoy holidays also.This can be the only approach which can be helpful to both.