Some experts believe that is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Traditionally, children begin studying foreign languages at secondary school. Many individual schools or educationalists have recommended to study foreign languages at an earlier stage. However, this policy may bring some advantages along with some disadvantages.

Obviously young children pick up languages much more easily than teenagers. Their brains are programmed to learn their mother tongue which also facilitates learning another language. At a young age, children are enthusiastic to explore and to learn new things. In Primary education subjects are more shorter and students will be more free that can maintain their enthusiasm and progress. Acquiring foreign languages in the early ages can also help them to understand other cultures also they can utilize it for exploring more details which are written in that foreign language.

However, there are some disadvantages. Primary school teachers may not have the necessary language skills or they are not well trained for that languages. Most of them will be only concentrated in generalised subjects. Language experts can make the sessions will be more flexible. Mostly it will become more stressful for students to learn more than one language including their mother tongue in the primary schooling. Some researchers shown that the children have difficulties in deciding which language to speak may end up learn nothing.

In conclusion, A standard policy can be adopted at primary schools which can also benefit society culturally and economically. Young children's grasping power can make these benefits more achievable.