Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

Nowadays, Advertisement is a fundamental part of contemporary businesses and helping in their nourishment. However, the methods used for advertisement remain a bone of contention among some critics because they have a divergence of opinion on ethical and moral grounds. I am of the strong opine that Ethical and moral values should be first and foremost priority for advertisers and any form of marketing campaigns ignoring ethical and moral values should be banned.

To begin with, It is undeniable that advertisement has a pivotal role in shaping the mind of the audience; hence, companies do not refrain from leaving any stone unturned. For instance, A popular mode of marketing nowadays, Telemarketing, has been proving useful and effective for corporates but they are ignoring the underlying roles of ethics. Most companies based in prosperous countries outsource these kinds of campaigns to undeveloped countries which often have different time zones. Therefore, customers usually get calls even on weekends and in late nights without their consent; consequently, compromising their private independence.

A persistence issue with advertisements that advertisers usually focus on children because they get influenced easily due to limited exposure. Consequently, Juveniles exert pressure on their progenitors to buy that product for them. For instance, If a campaign is using a cartoon character to promote products which might not be suitable for child health, this will naturally attract the juveniles, and they are bound to force their parents to buy that product for them without knowing the consequences on their health. Any form of the advertisement promoting child product should have a focus on parents; therefore, strict regulations and actions should be implemented to filter out these kinds of ads.

To conclude, verily ads are acquainted with the information for customers and can fabricate the base of the company's growth. However, unethical campaigns need to be regulated, and strict actions should have been taken to avoid the consequences.