Some people feel that global warming should be dealt with by governments. Others feel that it is the responsibility of individuals in society to solve the problem. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, climate change is impacting this planet at an alarming rate. While some believe that this is the ultimate responsibility of authorities to tackle this issue, I side with those who think that every single person on this planet should own this problem in order to control this phenomenon.

On the one hand, it could be argued that the governments often have resources in the form of legislation and regulatory authorities to handle this pressing issue. Firstly, the authorities can pass the legislation to discourage companies which are deteriorating the eco-system of this planet. Placing heavy taxes, for instance, could be an effective method to discourage environmentally unfriendly products’ manufacturing. Secondly, they also claim that the governments have regulatory bodies which can enforce the societies and individuals to avoid the activities which can pollute the environment.

On the other hand, in my opinion, without the input of individuals, the governments can not make any significant difference in fighting against this grave concern. To begin with, there is no benefit of any legislation until and unless the society does not adopt it. Take heavy taxes as an example. The company might not hesitate to pay the hefty taxes if they are making good profits by selling unfriendly environment products to individuals. Moreover, in my view, the most compelling reason is that individuals are the actual reason of this phenomenon; hence, the ultimate responsibility lies on the individuals to reverse the damage they have been causing to this climate since ages.

To conclude, although the governments have the power to fight with this issue by passing strict rules against those who are spreading the pollution, the individuals should take the lead to save the planet for future generations. Therefore, on balance, I believe society has much vital role to play in this cause.