Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with.

What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

Recreational activities play a pivotal role in uplifting the mental well-being of children. Consequently, parents have a tendency of giving a large number of toys to their kids. Although it engages them for an ample amount of time, it will definitely reduce their chance of physical activities. In my opinion, children will be provided with an ambience to interact and play with other children, however; the supply of toys is unavoidable these days.

There are myriad of advantages of having lofty toys to kids. Firstly, toys are designed to develop their cognitive skills. Each toy serves a purpose. When playing with variant ones, it will enhance their thinking ability. For example, rubrics cube solving involves a lot of mathematical and logical calculations. Secondly, the variety of colour, material and texture that the toys offer is irreplaceable. COnsequently, kids get a lot of exposure to variant materials from a young age. For instance, shops offer soft toys to babies under age one, hard toys to toddlers, and puzzles to school-going children. Finally, toys allow them to spend time with themselves. Working parents find it quite easy to manage their kids by offering them the play materials.

Conversely, exposure to a huge number of toys from a young age has a number of disadvantages. Firstly, it takes ample time from their physical activity, which is required for their growth as it prevents obesity. Supplying toys will hinder this. For instance, a recent survey from Times of India stated that more than 60% of students who have obesity which is caused by indoor lifestyles. Secondly, it mitigates the chance of interaction with their friends. Interaction with same-aged groups is essential for developing their communication skills. For example, a study report of WHO in 2019 stated that the interconnection of children at a young age is necessary for their mental health. Finally, buying a larger number of toys is expensive at times and some parents cannot afford it. Moreover, offering toys as gifts will have a negative impact in the future as the kids won't have the value of money.

To encapsulate, there are pros and cons in offering a number of toys to children at a young age. This essay discussed both in detail. Despite of all the merits they would offer, I strongly believe that spending lofty time with toys is detrimental to their communication skills and physical activeness and therefore should be limited.