Some parents want their children to read only serious educational books at all times. They

dont want their children to read entertainment books becuase they think it is a waste of time.

Do you agree/ DIsagree with their opinion?

Some parents expect their children to read-only academic books every time. They think that reading magazines or newspaper is a waste of time and children ought to use this time in reading their course books. In my opinion, I do not agree with the statement, as reading varieties of books apart from educational help children to create a holistic development.

To begin with, one benefit with reading different entertainment books is a positive effect on their mental health. Reading comics and magazines help them to know on varieties of general things which expands their imagination thinking and generates creative ideas. For example, according to a recent survey, 38% of children who read magazines twice a week were more creative than others who only read academic books. Another point to consider is that, if children are encouraged to read about different sports and their favorite stars, it encourages them to play sports, helping them to avoid a sedentary lifestyle and make be active and healthy. Therefore, reading about different varieties of books apart from academics exposes creative ideas in children and motivate them to involve in an active lifestyle, helping to create an overall development.

Having said that, there are some benefits to children reading only academic books. Their attention is not diverted from studies, which helps them to score better grades. For example, according to a recent poll, 45% of children who read educational books all times not only performed better in practical exams but also scored good marks in theory exams. But if parents guide properly and help them to divide proper time for both the subjects, children reading different

subjects can also score equally well.

In conclusion, reading different books on varieties of subjects help pupils to think innovatively and encourage them to involve in an active lifestyle; thereby, creating their overall development.