In some parts of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of one’s own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Researching the history of one’s own family is becoming a growing trend in some countries of the world. In my opinion, I believe that gaining knowledge about the family tree, also gives knowledge about one’s ancestral background and technology has made it easily accessible

One of the prominent causes that, why people want to know about their family history is because it is easy to access nowadays. In other words, the technology provides a platform to many companies, for instance, Ancestry.com which is an online company and uses DNA testing as one of its tools. It uses this testing as the basis for the revelation of one’s ancestral background. Another cause to research about family history is immigration. Many people have immigrated to new countries and adapted to new cultures, so the curiosity to know about their forefathers and where they actually belonged to, is increased in new generations.

It is definitely a positive development to know about one’s roots. As people come to know about their family history, the stronger bond they build with their cultures. For example, an Italian immigrant working in some other country loses his culture eventually and his generations can hardly relate to Italian culture, but now due to the technological world, people mostly know about their past and families. This also helps people to connect to the far and distant relatives which otherwise would have been impossible. Moreover, it has many health benefits as they can know about some genetic disease or hereditary traits, which is common in their family.

In conclusion, people know they have more avenues and can research their families more and can sometimes reconnect with their loved ones.