People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do they sleep less? What effect does it have on an individual and on society?

In many countries, people have started sleeping less than they used to. In my opinion, I believe that getting minimum sleep is owing to hectic work schedules for some and entertainment for others.

Firstly, the prominent reason that many people get less sleep nowadays than they used to get previously is due to their work schedule. In other words, to keep up with the deadlines of projects at work, many people get work home to complete their projects on time, thus working late at night. This has now become a very common scenario for many working-class people to use extra time which they need at work from their night hours and hence sleeping for a few hours.

Another factor that is adding to this sleep debridement in a lot of countries is entertainment. As people are busy with their work whilst the day, they need some sort of relaxation from the stress in their daily life, so many entertainment sources are available, such as night clubs, casinos, cinemas and many more. As a result of these night clubs and casinos, many people utilize their night hours dancing and gambling and thus using their time in entertainment at night rather than sleep.

Lack of sleep has a detrimental effect on individuals as well as society. The individuals with insomnia are always at many health risks, and some of the immediate effects being laziness, lethargy, disinterest, and lack of concentration which is harmful to them as well as society. For instance, a person with sleep problems can be dangerous while driving, as he cannot concentrate on the signals as well as the intersection and thus, being a threat to his life as well as others on the road.

In conclusion, sleeping for fewer hours can be very dangerous for the health of the individual and can bring catastrophic effects on society as the lack of concentration and awareness of their surroundings so, can be a problem for others too.