One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to the improved medical care, the mortality rate has decreased and expectancy of life is constantly increasing, thus leading to a longer life.

The new health facilities have improved quality of life and eventually lead to a more independent and prosperous life for the geriatric population and I agree with it. Firstly, one of the main developments because of better health care is that people live a longer and healthier life and spend more time with family, especially grandchildren. The regular health checkups and many lifesaving drugs are now readily available and promise a better prospect of life. Moreover, as more medical assistance such as nurses, physical therapist always gives an edge from the past facilities.

However, the detrimental effects of more life expectancy have put a lot more weight on the government. In other words, the authorities such as social security services have to spend a lot of money on the old population from the taxpayer’s money. In other words, as the numbers of retired people increases in the country, more money has to be spending on their health care to maintain their healthy lifestyle and a big chunk of money is taken from the other developmental programmes such as roads, schools, restoration of historical buildings, thus impacting the economy in the long run. As a result of this, many countries with a large number of the old population have low economy rates.

In conclusion, I think the advantages of improved health facilities have decreased the mortality rate and improved quality of life, but can have some drawbacks, such as slowing of the economy.