Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society.

Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

It is often said that death penalty for those who committed violent crimes is necessary to keep the strict legal system. Nevertheless, other people say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. My own view on the matters is that without it we will be threatened and become more vulnerable to violence. The following essay takes a look at both sides of the argument about capital punishment followed by my opinion.

On the one hand, we have no right to kill other human since the survival right is the ultimate right of mankind. Another point worth noting is that we can kill innocent people due to unfair sentences. Our society is more and more complicated. In a case, people without power will often lose a lawsuit because of some corruption. Therefore, we should consider this kind of punishment because it can make people face execution while being wrongfully convicted. Last but not least, in terms of humanism, death penalty is quite merciless. Everyone need a chance to start again from the beginning. We should also pave the way for the criminals, especially juvenile crimes to help them to be re-educated in the society.

On the other hand, there are many advantages of death penalty. Firstly, it prevents serious crimes. For some individuals committing particularly serious crimes, their existence in the society is extremely dangerous, and they will threaten the lives of many members of the community. Therefore, the application of capital punishment to them is necessary. Then, even though the offenders no longer live, it will be a lesson to help others stay away all intentions as well as committing offences. The criminals have fear of the death penalty which prevents them from doing crimes. Moreover, death penalty is a form of revenge which gives a feeling of peace for the victim. Otherwise, many times a victim converted into offender to take revenge by own. Lastly, it reduces expenses on maintenance of prisoners. Instead of spending a lot of money on maintenance of prisoners, this money can be used for the development of the society and welfare of the people.

All thing considered, I believe that the advantages of capital punishment outweigh the disadvantages. Capital punishment is the best way of controlling criminals, preventing other people from committing offences and reduce expenses of national budget.