Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

According to a section of society, the primary goal of tertiary education is to enable individuals to secure coveted jobs. However, others strongly believe that goal of higher education is to achieve greater good; both for individuals and society. I strongly believe that purpose of university education is far beyond job prospects and in the course of the essay, I will discuss both the viewpoints.

There are specific reasons why people believe that tertiary education is the gateway to a lucrative job. Firstly market researchers in the United States and other developed countries have shown that postgraduates are able to command a considerably higher salary at the workplace when compared to graduates or simple high school diploma holders. Moreover, the professional world of certain white collared, highly respected professions, like those of physicians, engineers, scientists can only be pursued, after graduating from the respective university courses. Furthermore, in certain fields like management, the credibility of various universities are judged by their ability to generate glittering well-paid employment offers for their fresh graduates, during their campus placements. Hence university education is definitely perceived as a means of better employability.

In this context, it is worth mentioning that, apart from generating lucrative jobs for students, universities also benefit the nation by creating educated societies, containing an immense pool of forward-thinking individuals, who can contribute towards social development by their respective expertise. Individuals graduating from universities also additionally benefit from the multicultural environments that promote intercultural tolerance and brotherhood. The process of tertiary education also promotes teamwork and collective development amongst individuals. Over and above, numerous long-lasting friendships, business partnerships and courtships also bloom from the university campus life.

Finally, to sum up, it can be confidently stated that apart from generating respectable employment, there are numerous associated positive aspects of university education, which are of great social and individual significance.