Some people think that secondary school children should study

international news as one of the school subjects. Other people think

that it is a waste of valuable school time. What do you think? Give

reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from

your own knowledge or experience.

In today's era of digitalization and modernization, the world has become a global village, and it is mandatory for an individual to have the information on all current affairs to survive in this competitive universal market. In continuation to this notion, some people opine that the international news should be introduced as a subject in secondary school curriculum whereas other analysts defend the idea that this subject is not of much significance for kids and shouldn't be included in the syllabus. I am a strong advocate of the former view that the international news should be an important subject for kids. In this essay, I will discuss my viewpoint.

International news is beneficial for students in many ways. First and foremost, the main advantage of this is awareness about the recent technologies and trends. By exploring technical news, pupils get awareness of the various technologies evolving and the fields which are having a good career in future. Kids can use such an information to shape their career on the right path. For instance, in the technology news section; mostly, main headlines are about the upgrade on various operating systems and user-friendly, fast applications being used in computers and mobiles. Undergraduates can interpret from such information that the computer science field has many excellent job opportunities today and tomorrow as well.

Apart from the above-mentioned advantage, sports news could also increase the interest in watching and playing games among children. This would increase their physical strength and some students could also be inspired to become an international athlete. Moreover, issues and problems mentioned in the news will make them empathetical which would eventually benefit the society. For example, during floods in Kerala, school students are actively participating in collecting relief materials for the affected people.

To recapitulate, I strongly agree with the belief that international news help students to grow mentally, physically and emotionally. Therefore, in my opinion, the government should include such a subject in secondary education.