Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A child is the future of a Nation. Some people, however, worry that these children would become self-centered grownups if given a lot of liberty while many others argue that it is of paramount importance for them to have a say in the matters that impact themselves. We will debate on both the sides and derive upon a seasoned conclusion.

Some hold a firm belief that children’s decision making on the matters such as what to wear, to eat and to play with may create the tendency of prioritizing their own interests. For instance, when parents tend to give in to the child’s unreasonable demands like eating junk food out of proportion, entertaining themselves with expensive unaffordable toys. These children cannot just take no for an answer. Gradually, this tendency is likely to turn them into egocentric society members who place their own benefits above others'.

Some, in contrast, argue that allowing children to go for what they prefer is crucial for their early education and long-term development. First, decision making means the children are in charge of both their choices and the consequences of those. This is an invaluable method to teach them to be sensible and self-reliant as well as prepare them to become responsible citizens. Another point is, since their opinions are respected by others, these children would be mindful of people’s wishes before doing something. For example, parents of late look forward to sending their unruly children to hostels to become more responsible and highly independent citizens

In spite of some arguments on both sides of the case, I am of the opinion that children should be encouraged to express their desires and make decisions based on them as self-decision plays an important role in shaping their mind set and personalities. Also, with appropriate guidance from their guardians, the negative effects of this approach can be prevented.