Some people believe that children are given to much free time. They feel that this time should be used to do more school work.

How do you think children should spend their free time?

Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples for your own knowledge or experience.

There is one thing that is always a polemic topic no matter where is discussed. Is Children’s education and how to take advantage of their free time. Most people think that the quality of the education given to their children is almost as important as how to utilize properly the children's free time. Many countries from South America have adopted a longer day at school similar to some schools in the United States or Asia. Countries like Chile or Venezuela, where children go to school from seven am to six pm are among those, which have recently changed to a longer journey at school. When the children go to their houses they have some time to do homework and little free time to spend doing other things. Nevertheless, getting a longer day at school have shown almost no impact in the academic results of the students comparing to other countries with a shorter journey.

When I was a student back in Venezuela, our school day starts at 7 am and by the 12 o’clock, I was on my way back home. I remember that teachers gave me a lot of homework; however, I did have free time to practice Baseball and basketball, as long as I delivered my homework on time. Moreover, my grades were good and I was always on top of my class. With this experience, I think that keeping the children for almost 12 hours at school it's not necessarily good unless, these long periods of time are used properly, not only focus on the academic side, but giving useful tools to the children that will help them in the future.

Finally I my opinion the parents should have an important role taking advantage of their children's free time. Sign him/her up into a sport, music lessons, dance school, learning a new language, not leaving them to waste the little free time they have. Because at the end of the day, time is not going, back and children grow up so fast.