Some people believe that children are given too much time. They feel that this time should be used to do more schoolwork. How do you think children should spent their free time?

some say that children have too much leisure time after school and they should spend this time on more studying. I strongly believe that children should use their free time to do outdoor activities rather than schoolwork because they need to improve their physical strength for a better academic performance and they will not be very effective for studying during this time either.

children’s energy will be significantly enhanced when they engage in physical activities after school. In other words, outdoor activities, such as camping and playing football, will make children more refreshed to study academic subjects effectively. For example, a study of the National University of Education in Ho Chi Minh City showed that 60 percent of children in elementary schools performed better in final examinations after they participated in football competitions at weekends.

Another reason why children should not use free time to do more schoolwork is that they will not be able to learn in an effective way. when children know that they have their own time to play, their brains will not allow them to focus on any academic lessons. Hence, the effort to force children to study after school is completely useless and it may even cause stress to them. For instance, research from the UCLA indicates that children’s brains tend to resist any academic knowledge on the weekends. In contrast, children react more positively when they are informed to participate in some fun activities with their peers.

In conclusion, children should allocate all their leisure time to engage in outdoor activities as they will gain more energy and physical strength for their study at school and free time is proved to be the most ineffective time for children to do schoolwork.