Some people believe that children are given too much free time. They feel that this time should be used to do more school work. To what extent do you agree to that?

How do you think children should spend their free time?

In this contemporary era, leisure time plays a crucial role in the overall development of every child. A section of masses thinks that children have a plethora of spare time and they ought to utilize it in doing school tasks whereas others opine the opposite. From my perspective, I believe that this aspect has its share of both benefits and drawbacks, I will articulate both the viewpoints and also share how kids should spend their free time and then deduce the logical conclusion in the subsequent paragraphs.

To commence with, investing idle time in academic work enhances the scholastic knowledge and academic skills of pupils. For example, by studying schools subjects such as history gives knowledge about culture, heritage, and lineage. Also, if they read geography, they will learn about flora and fauna, terrains and different places in the world. This will make them proficient in their academics and as a result, they will bring laurels. Moreover, this will develop their interest and will pursue higher education in the esteemed institutions of the world. They will excel in their careers and will use their knowledge in research and development. Due to the proficiency in their respective fields, they will become the torchbearers of the nation.

On the flip side, spending time in co-curricular activities improves their other skills. For example, by engaging in sports, school-going children will become physically and mentally strong. This will augment their capabilities such as leadership and teamwork. Furthermore, by playing video games, their cognitive and imaginative skills will boost up. The comics and fictional books will elevate their articulation and linguistic skills. Also, hobby classes like singing, painting, dancing can help them hone their talents and can pursue their careers. Besides this, spending time with their family and friends can strengthen their bonds and relations with their loved ones and as a result, their communication gaps if any will dwindled.

In conclusion, at this age to excel academically, doing school tasks play an important role. However, by solely studying school books will have only bookish knowledge, therefore, the onus lies with the parents to make sure their offsprings indulge in both schoolwork and co-curricular activities judiciously for their holistic growth so that they should enjoy their childhood as it will happen once their lifetime.