Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree

This is a fact that watching Television provides various kinds of information effectively. It is often suggested by a few masses that children should watch TV in order to gain more knowledge regarding all subjects in education institutes as well as at home. While i believe that using tv for broadening the horizons of knowledge, I also support the view that addiction to spend a lot of time on watching tv can be detrimental for children.

On the one hand, spending long hours in front of Television can have adverse effects on the well-being of infants. Firstly, it can cause many health disorders to pupils as sitting whole day to watch tv brings obesity among children. Therefore, getting extra fat and weight in early age leads to numerous diseases such as heart problems, backache and many more. For example, according to a survey 80% of the kids have sedentary lifestyle because they allocate most of their time to browsing internet and watching tv. So, in this way they are unable to concentrate on their academics due to health problems. Secondly, if they would learn from technology and not from printed sources, the skills such as writing would be undeveloped. Without excellent writing skills they are less likely to pursue a good job for them. As a result, they should learn from books instead of television to get more deep information. Finally, An educator can teach in a better way as students may not understand significant concepts from television. So, they need an classroom environment and an expert teacher for learning everything properly.

On the other hand, television might be an attractive source to obtain information by children. First of all, several channels are telecasted on Television that are specifically for educating pupils such as discovery, public broadcasting service and Nasa TV. These provide detailed information for the purpose of education. Consequently, studying by watching tv is useful and vast. In addition to this. Parents should motivate their offsprings to watch TV to learn more as it provides audio and visual content. Most importantly, children can memories the visual content for many years instead if written material. That is why, it can provide more fruitful information to children that would help them in getting practical experience also.

To conclude, Although i believe that technology plays an important role in education in these days and students can advantage of these gadgets to receive information, i firmly believe that it can impact the learning adversely because of addiction and limited content.