Some people believe that children’s leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they

are a complete waste of time.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

Many people believe that children's leisure activities must be educational that focus children's time on an academic environment is the right thing to do, otherwise, it will be a total waste of time.

I disagree with this idea not entirely but, most of it. I believe in a different approach to get the most of our children's time. The main focus should be good formal education followed up by one or two different activities such as playing a sport or playing the piano as an example. Both activities will help the child to develop other aptitudes apart from academic ones.

For example, playing a sport is an effective way to let the child begin a relationship with others apart from their homes and families. Although, is not an academic task it will help the child development of social behavior and awareness.

In my personal experience, I was an outstanding student at top of my class, good at maths and science but, with some troubles relating to other children of my age. So My mom signed me up at the local baseball academy almost against my will at the time. Twenty years later I am grateful to her for making me do something that I wouldn't have done without her push. That baseball academy helps me to develop social aptitudes that allow me to grow and learn things that matter daily such as teamwork, communication, and respect for others. I am a big believer that children's leisure time shouldn't be focus only on academic activities but, on activities that will help the child in their future in society.