Some people believe that construction of new public buildings such as museums, town halls and sporting facilities is more important than renovation of the existing ones, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this changing technological world, infrastructure development stands no exception. With the up-gradation in the infrastructural techniques and methodology there is a need to save and retain the traditional and cultural aspects of public building. While some cite that there is need in construction of new buildings, I stand with the experts who state that renovation of existing building is imperative than constructing a new one.

One of the prime causative factors for adapting new infrastructure is, to have optimum utilization of land resources and replace the outdated architecture. Old buildings occupy a huge amount of space resulting in congestion of development in major places. Nowadays several Heritage buildings are collapsing because of its outdated architecture and weak infrastructure. In south Mexico, seven visitors died because of collapsing of old sporting facility in the year 2007. In brief these are prominent reason for building new public infrastructure.

On the other side, expert state that there is no need of building new public buildings, retention and renovations of old buildings with latest civil methodologies will help in securing and retaining the cultural and heritage value of their land. Old buildings are the representation of culture and traditions, where it symbolizes the historical background of the ancestors of that place. For Instance, Tippu palace, built-in 18th century have a history of 2 centuries and now it’s been identified as a national heritage and serves as a museum and town hall, where latest technologies were incorporated to strengthen the pillars and walls. Now it is attracting thousand of tourist's yearly. Hence there is need for linking the modern technology with old building for saving the culture and heritage.

In conclusion, this essay discussed why the construction of new public building is necessary but, why it is significant important to save the old buildings. In my opinion, it is utmost important to save the old monuments of the society with the application of modern technology to have a sustainable development.