Many famous athletes advertise different products. What are the advantages and disadvantages of it?

Industries use advertising for increasing the sales of the product and it is a business strategy. Nowadays companies are using well-known sportspersons as a brand ambassador to the products. This essay will discuss both the pros and cons of this way of publicizing products.

One of the most prominent benefits of using a sports person in an advertisement for the product is, it will increase its value in public. As athletes are very near to people and often seen in a sport which is famous in their countries, the product will reach citizens very fast and increases the business outcome. People treat them as role models and buy those products which increase the economy of the industry as well as the country. For illustration Virat Kholi, M.S Dhoni, and Sachin Tendulkar were the brand ambassadors for MRF and Boost health drink, in the span of 15 years those companies had reached 200% profits and paid tax of 12000 crores to the country. So in brief, it is clear that with the sportspersons in the advertisement the product value and outcome will raise.

However, each coin has two sides, companies are taking advantage of using sportspersons in the advertisement. As they pay for athletes a vast amount, they often use them for advertising some flaw products which are bad for health. For example, Vijay Mallya, one of the big shot in India has an alcoholic industry wing under his group of industries, he mostly uses all the cricket personalities in promoting that drink which is very harmful. According to the latest statistics, there are almost 1500 people were dead while driving a vehicle after drinking this beer. These ultra-prominent reasons and statistics show the disadvantages of promoting a lousy product

In conclusion, from milk to beer, industries are using famous sportspersons in advertising their products to increase their values. In this essay, we discuss that one side there is a good market that will increase the economy and another side there are some companies taking benefit out of using these people in their advertisements to promote dangerous and harmful products. Indeed, its athlete’s responsibility to promote good products