Public entertainers play a significant role in society from a cultural standpoint. It is a common belief that celebrities mint money. Although it wouldn’t be fair to generalize this but it most cases it turns out to be true. I happen to believe that they deserve such compensation and have favorable impact on the community. In this essay, both views would be discussed followed by a conclusion.

Entertainment industry encompasses professions such as singers, politicians, sportspersons, actors or even social media influencers. Be it a game of football or an arena filled with thousands of fans, sportsman like Cristiano Ronaldo (highest paid footballer) and Katy Perry (billionaire singer), tend to influence masses with their action on and off the field. They inspire us for a better future and fills the space as escape from boredom or monotony through concerts, movies or exhibition events. However, these very performers put in copious amount of hard work, training and rehearsals to bring out a ‘show’ in front of the audience. This solely qualifies for high remuneration that usually comes in this industry. To further support my point, we should also consider the short life span of their careers as compared to occupations like doctors, engineers or accountants.

On the other side, it is pertinent to talk about negative impact that entertainers tend to have on a society. With the amount of influence a celebrity wields coupled with fan following on social media, anything and everything they depict tends to get imitated. The most glaring example is that of Kim Kardashian who might have unknowingly promoted plastic surgery propagating insecurity among the youth. It is suggested that media should take a center stage in generating awareness of such presumptions.

In conclusion, I would like to reinstate that entertainment profession involves significant risk and shorter life span career which makes their effort even more valuable and hence they deserve to be paid appropriately. After all money is the bigger motivator and ensures a good supply of talent in future.