Some people believe that everyone should be free to make their own lifestyle choices, even if those choices are unhealthy. Other people think that the government should intervene to influence people’s choices, for example by putting high taxes on unhealthy products.

Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

There are differing opinions on how people should lead their lives, especially with respect to lifestyle choices. Some people believe that the government should adopt measures to curb wrong lifestyle choices, whereas others think it should be left to people themselves to decide. I am of the opinion that the government should not interfere in the lifestyle choices of people and should instead let people make decisions as they wish, even if it is considered unhealthy by some.

To support my argument that the government should not interfere in the lifestyle choices of people, I put forth two critical points. First, there is no universal rule on what is healthy and what is not. So then, who is the one to decide that a particular product is to be labeled unhealthy? What is deemed unhealthy for some may, in fact, turn out to be healthy for others. For instance, chocolates are considered unhealthy for people suffering from diabetes, whereas for others, it is recommended to be consumed in reasonable quantities every day. Second, the taxes in most countries are so high already, that burdening the common man with additional taxes merely for his personal choices is not desirable.

On the other hand, some people believe that the government ought to tax lifestyle choices which are considered unhealthy. For instance, consumption of alcohol is considered as a social evil in India and is therefore expected to be taxed at an exorbitant rate. The rationale behind this thought is that by putting a high tax on such products, the interest of people in these products comes down, thereby eliminating the problem. However, time and again, research has shown that this is not true and is, therefore, not the most efficient solution.

To conclude, although some lifestyle choices seem unhealthy, people should be given a free hand in making their own choices and intervening in their lives is not what the government should be focussing on.