Some people believe that if people are allowed to work after the age of 60, it will cause some problems. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that if employees are permitted to continue working past the age of 60, it may create problems in future. This essay completely disagrees with the statement above as it believes that having senior people in the team is always beneficial. The essay will discuss firstly, the advantages of having elderly people in the team and secondly, how continuation of work helps elderly people.

To begin with, having knowledgeable old people working along with fresh graduates is a powerful combination that many companies around the world trying to incorporate in their organisations. The key benefit is the rapid development of new generation employees as they can quickly learn and get onto the speed by shadowing experienced veteran workers. This senior workers usually posses huge amount of knowledge, skills, and understanding, therefore, letting them go is a major loss to the company. Pairing them with unfamiliar trainees or graduates can transfer valuable information. For example, I was paired with a veteran engineer in my first job, who taught me all the important tools to solve a problem on the shop floor; as a result, I was able to handle projects in no time.

Another point to consider is that it is highly beneficial for people past 60 to continue working as they can enjoy a source of income. The principal advantage is that they don’t have to rely on their children or become a burden on their family. In few cases, after retirement senior citizens relocate themselves to live with their kids as they can’t afford rising cost of living. As they have no work to do, they get utterly bored and, in addition, they can’t even meet their old local friends to kill the boredom. Therefore, I believe elderly people should continue working, for instance, a survey from the Times newspaper mentioned senior citizen who chose to work past 60 were found more content with their lives.

In conclusion, working past 60 is actually beneficial not only for the corporation but also for the senior people.