It is argued that in modern society, we are surrounded by excessive choices. That is, we have to choose one among many options we have. I totally agree with this statement since in my opinion, unnecessarily various choices are caused by industrialization and globalization.

In 21st century, because of industrialization, there are too much segmented options when we purchase goods, which makes it hard to select only one among them. For example, when we visit supermarkets for buying a laundry detergent, we may find tens of laundry detergents all from different brands. As each product advertises itself with different features and prices, comparing products respectively to find out the best product provokes consumers' fatigue. Therefore, from the example of the supermarket, it can be seen that we have considerably many choices.

Furthermore, globalization has had the significant role to increase the number of choices. As more and more countries trade their countries' products to foreign countries, the range of choices have kept being wider. It means that consumers even need to consider producing countries of products they want to purchase. For instance, when there are two kinds of bananas from Philippine and USA, consumers are given one more factor to consider for consuming bananas. Not only consumers but also students are affected by the broad range of choices when they choose their future schools, which is caused by the globalized society. Although it is considered positively that they can apply to foreign schools more easily than the past, in fact, it aggravates students’ stress. Without foreign universities as options, the process of decision would be simpler and faster. From these cases, we can see that consumers and student are stressed by too much options.

To sum up, it is evident that we are suffering from excessively many choices in modern society because of industrialized and globalized life.