Some people believe that the Olympics games do not have a role in 21st Century. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your experience.

Sports have been playing an important role in lives of the people. Some people claim that Olympics games are no longer needed in the 21st Century due to the lack of popularity as well as fewer career opportunities. However, i strongly disagree with this claim as Olympics events provide the youth the opportunity to display their talent at an international level as well as provide a global platform for many nations to come together.

In many countries, Olympics sports are not quite well known among the common people. For example, in India the game of Cricket is much more popular than Olympics games like shot-put and archery and thus, people think Olympics games are not significant. In addition, there are very less opportunities to make a career in Olympics. To illustrate, unlike Hockey or Football, there are hardly any national or state level championships conducted for the sport of Javelin throw, and therefore not many consider these games as a source to earn income.

On the contrary, Olympics competitions have led to the world recognition of many young talents. For instance, the RIO Olympics events have given the youth a chance to showcase their capabilities and passion on an international level. Moreover, Olympics events have made it possible for many nations around the world to unite together and have the opportunity to witness the talent of the participants. This in turn, will lead to more opportunities in future for sports persons to live their dreams.

To recapitulate, the decision whether Olympics games have an important part in the coming future or not is a controversial one. In my opinion, I think that Olympics games are a necessity because they motivate many young athletes to follow their passion as well as play a vital role in uniting countries around the world.