Some people believe that the only purpose of a zoo is entertainment.

Do you agree or disagree?

In many parts of the world, the purpose of a zoo is unclear to many people, and popular media generally make us believe that animal captivities are for the entertainment of the general public. I completely disagree with this notion not only because zoos are used to protect endangered species and as a research centre, but also considered as a source of education. This essay will explore how these factors justify that the purpose of the zoo is not only confined to entertainment.

Firstly, animals are usually kept in the zoo to conduct scientific research. This is to say, animals are involved in the early stages of the drug discovery process in which many aspects of drugs are assessed. As novel drugs are tested on animals first, and when drug safety is established it is then tested on human beings. Take an example of a zoo in Brazil, where innovative cancer medicines are undergoing clinical trials on rabbits and cats. Thus, the zoo has the facility to conduct scientific procedures.

Secondly, the zoo protects those species which are near to extinction. Since with the recent habitat destruction by excess deforestation, many species of animals are endangered. Wildlife parks provide an ideal condition to save them and increase their progeny. For instance, the Royal Zoo of London recently bought a variety of Kiwis to increase their growth and reproduction. Hence, the purpose of the zoo is more than entertainment.

Finally, children and elders have a great opportunity to gain knowledge about different species of animals, their habitat, and their origin. Since the zoo has various species of one kind of animal, people get the benefit of both learning and enjoyment as well.

To sum up, the opinion that the sole purpose of the zoo is enjoyment is not justified because these animal centres not only conduct research and save the wildlife, but also educate the public.