Some People believe the people have the right to university education, and government should make it free no matter what their financial background. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Education is a fundamental right of every citizen of a country to have access to higher education irrespective of their social, financial and other aspects. It is thought by some that it is government's duty to make education free for everyone regardless of their financial background. While I believe that government should make sure that everyone has higher education, I do not agree that it should be free for everyone.

To begin with, government makes policies to enhance the life of its citizens. Education is one aspect which is imperative for the prosperity of a nation and it is at the top of government's priority while making financial budget. With the increased population, it is becoming almost impossible for government to benifit the lower income class of the nation. If government make education free of cost for every class of the society, there may be cases where people with sufficient income take the advantage of this policy by illegal means . Consequently, it would be even more difficult for people under the poverty line to get the benefit of the policies that are made for them.

To further explain it, the best possible use of government policies is entwined with the large number of people who get benefit from the policies. It has been seen in the past that people have registered themselves as schedule cast so that their children could get free books and cycle. Consequently, the children who actually needed these equipment did'nt get. Government can not leave that responsibility on public to let other people get the benefit especially when it is free of cost. Furthermore People are lacking consideration of the needs of others needs of others therefore it is government's duty to make sure that policies should benifit the people for whom it is made.

In conclusion, although education is the basic needs of every one, it is not conducive to make it free for everyone as it can cause people who really need government support for education deprived of the benefits. I would like to reiterate to benefit more underprivileged people from government policies, education should only be free for those who can not afford it.