It is widely argued that in order to achieve success in sport, people have to gain physical endurance rather than mental health. I personally agree partially with the above statement. I believe that the choice of which one to follow will depend entirely on individual pursue. This essay will first make a discussion about muscular strength in sport, and then talk about how mental strength can help people gain achievement in sport.

On the one hand, the importance of physical strength variably depends on what kind of sports that people take up. Football, for example, greatly demands sporty enthusiasts to gain a strong sense of endurance and energy to play in a huge amount of time, therefore, physical strength is extremely crucial for footballers. Additionally, it is reasonably understandable that each football player, whenever they are transferred to another football club, a medical check-up is a must to ensure that they enable to give the audiences an excellent performance in every soccer match.

On the other hand, there is no room for doubt that mental health also plays an important role in sport. More specifically, sport such as chess, hugely requiring practitioners to have patience, enthusiasm, and mindful concentration, as well as practicing on a regular basis with a view to acquiring basic skills of playing chess. Therefore, people have to exert a great deal of effort to achieve mental sport. A research, which has been recently carried out by Oxford University, reveals that 89% of chess participants spend roughly 15 hours per day searching for novel techniques in order to improve their skills.

In conclusion, sport players, generally, require some essential attributes to obtain great achievements and it hugely depends on personal preferences of the role of physical and mental strength.