Some people believe public transport should be free of charge. Do you think the advantages are more than disadvantages?

It is argued that public transport ought to be free of cost. I believe benefits to the poor section of society and environment have an edge over the drawback of burden on the government to cope with the finances involved.

Providing costless transportation to the public will be huge burden on the government. If public transport is set without any charges, people tend to use more public transport as it is human tendency to use the facilities for free. Thus, government has to strengthen (effectuate) the transport system by deploying more vehicles and it would involve a considerable chunk of funds to maintain transport and bear daily operational costs, such as wages of workers, fuel expenses and repair work, which transport entails. It would possibly have negative consequences on the other public facilities such as medical facilities, education.

Granted, I believe making available free public transport would definitely be fruitful for the environment. It has been seen that people more often than not use private vehicles for their day-to-day affairs which pose a great threat to the environment by emitting toxic gases. By making transport system without any cost will encourage locals to commute in it. Hence, environmental degradation can be reined to the great extent. Singapore is good paradigm of this where public transport made free for a month and its outcome was beyond belief in the context of securing atmosphere.

Furthermore, underprivileged sections of the society will be benefitted the most of the facility of costless public transport. Under poverty people, who are finding it difficult to survive, will be relieved and can possibly spare their money, dispensed on traveling, for utilizing in the other crucial areas. This step could set a good precedent for spending the public money directly to them in order to ease their lives.

In conclusion, despite the disadvantage of stress on government to bear exorbitant expenses of making public transport free of charge, I think benefits to the general public and nature outnumber.