Some people believe school children should be given multiple short vacations, while others believe they should get one long vacation. Give the advantages of both and express your own point of view. (Feb – 2018)

Vacations allow children to release the mental stress of academic studies. Although some believe that schools and universities should give many small vacations as it will enable students to encounter study complexities and cover up for assignments, in my opinion one long vacation will be more beneficial for the student's effective learning because of minimal study distractions, consistency and opportunities for slow learners.

Firstly, if school pupils are given frequent holidays of short duration, it will help them to deal with complex study theories. To exemplify, students are exhausted due to lectures and exam pressure, and periodic breaks will help them refresh their mind and return back with increased focus and concentration that will help them to tackle difficult subjects. Secondly, children always have the burden of assignments and journals for each grade. If they receive monthly or quarterly vacations, preparation and completion of periodic tutorials will be easy for them. Nevertheless, the lack of preparation from the final exams point of view render this idea as not effective.

The approach of providing yearly vacation with longer amount of time has several merits. One such merit is that it will prevent the students from diverting their mind and attention to other non academic activities. For instance, the free time off at the completion of the semester studies will ensure that university graduates will not devote their time to hobbies and additive holiday tasks like fun camp and watching cartoons. Another potential advantage is that without interrupted breaks, children will be able to concentrate on studies and maintain the study grip. To exemplify, the mathematical theorems and scientific fundamentals taught in classes will remain afresh till the end of the semester year. The third obvious benefit is that long-term vacations are not characterized by mid-term exams which will be advantageous for young candidates who have low grasping capabilities.

To conclude, in spite of the positive aspects of frequent small breaks, I believe that the provision of the free time of more time span directly after the annual examinations is favorable for overall development of academic learners.