Some people believe that smartphones are destroying social interaction today.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary era, many people are of the view that smartphones are damaging social interaction. In my opinion, although mobile phones have been beneficial for introverts, it has a major negative impact on the social life of people.

Those who favour usage of mobile phones point out that it has opened people who generally shy away from other people. Activities on smartphones such as social media and group chats are helpful to people who want to take baby steps into forging friend or open to other people. For example, a new student in a school may fear to start a conservation with other classmates or take part in group studies but could make them make friends first on social media website such as Facebook and start to chat without being vulnerable in a face to face conversation.

Despite the aforementioned view, I believe smartphones hindering people to make new relationships. Most of the people are usually busy with there smartphones whether there are alone or are in the group because of entertainment provide by the phones is very lucrative. People nowadays generally do not consider talking to other people fulfilling enough would rather choose to watch a movie or a serial on Netflix or play addictive games on phones. A very good example of this would long train journeys, earlier people use to talk, tell stories and jokes to other passengers and forge friendships but these days they prefer to stare at the screens.

In conclusion, I agree that smartphones are jeopardising social relationships. People should be mindful about their mobile phone and internet usage and check if they are prioritising scrolling their social feeds over real relationships.