Employers should focus on personal qualities over qualifications and experience when choosing someone for a job. To what extent do you agree with this?

It is sometimes thought personal traits of the candidate should be given more emphasis than the qualifications and experience while hiring a new employee. However, I disagree with this opinion and believe that qualifications and experience ought to be the chief criteria for recruitment.

Firstly, relevant education and qualifications are required for most of the academic jobs. In other words, professions such as medicine, dentistry and law need a specialised educational background and, therefore, while selecting a person for these occupations educational qualification should be paramount and personal characteristics are often of very less significance. Moreover, it is not easier to determine the personal qualities of the interviewees in a recruitment interview not only due to the shortage of time but also due to the fact that candidates can even fake those qualities.

Secondly, job experience is often very helpful in choosing the right person for the company because it provides a fair insight into the past endeavours of the candidate as well as it also the show credibility of the job seeker. For example, if a person has three to four years of work experience in a single company, particularly in the software industry, then that person seen as a reliable. Furthermore, a person with a fair amount of experience are often adaptive and could start contributing to the organisation without or with very little training.

Finally, although qualifications and experience should be the most focused factor while recruitment, personal characteristics such as honesty and flexibility should be assessed in the probationary period. Probation period, generally a one month induction period, is ample amount to evaluate personal characteristics and provide constructive feedback to the newly joined employee to improve on them.

In conclusion, qualified and experienced create the most value for a company and these two factors should be the most look for factors in an interview and personal qualities can only be assessed effectively in a longer period of time.