Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life. Others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Sports have been an integral part of human lives since the advent of civilisation. Due to this, it is asserted by one section of society that physical activities should be a compulsory part of the school curriculum, whereas others deem that it should be discretionary. This essay will delve deeper into both the opinions followed by my perspective in the ensuant paragraphs.

To begin with, if sporting is made a necessary part of schooling programs, all children can thrive their essential management skills in the coming times because it can inculcate essential life traits in children such as teamwork, competitiveness, leadership skills, time management, and sportsmanship. As a result, pupils can succeed in their future professional lives where this skillfulness is highly appreciated. For example, multinational companies such as, Microsoft and Infosys, prefer to hire those professionals who hold sports background along with vocational degrees.

However, assuming that when competitive sports are not a part of schooling, studious pupils can enhance their cognitive skills more precisely. Since they can invest their precious time in academic preparation, instead of playing games with their peers on the ground. Consequently, they will score good marks which are required to take admission in Ivy league colleges. For instance, a survey conducted in 2018, by United States census bureau, in America, revealed that three among four scholars studying at the Harvard school of business were never a part of any school sports activity.

As far as my opinion is concerned, I firmly believe that whether or not education institutes make it obligatory, children of any age should take part in competitive sports in order to keep themselves physically stronger. Resultantly, their mind will also flourish as they say, 'healthy mind lives in a healthy body.'

To conclude, keeping all the above in view, it can be reiterated that supporting any of the sides entirely is unsurmountable as both the opinions are indispensable. Still, in my assertion, school children should be encouraged to take part in team sports in order to increase their chances of success in this contemporary world.