Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Many people are convinced that young children in their teens should spend some of their time for charity work. Such activities will help not only the kids but also the society as a whole. In my opinion any work done to help the needy is a very beneficial to one's growth in life and also gives peace of mind.

To embark on doing unpaid charity work during you free time gives a feeling of happiness. The art of helping a needy is very satisfying and gives a sense of fulfillment. For example last week I went to this Old age home and cooked lunch with the people there. After the lunch we had a short story telling round, I felt like I had gone to the old days when my grandmother was alive. I was so small kid when my grandmother was terminally and did not get enough time to spend with her. But spending time with the people at old age home makes me reminisce the old days. So all in all it not only the people whom we are helping feel happy, we also get a sense of happiness.

One more thing is community work shows us the trouble people are facing. We are so busy with our problems that we overlook the problems of others. We can never help people if we do not understand their problem. In japan young kids of school are made to clean the toilets of school. A young kid at such age learns the importance of cleanliness by doing community work. Hence, despite people thinking otherwise community work helps a child to grow a sense of care.

In conclusion I totally agree with the common belief. I think like in some countries army work is compulsory after school, community work should have a compulsory curriculum at school. It is the need of the hour.