Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each crime. Others,
however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for
committing it , should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.
Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.
Although there is no doubt that crime must be punished, it is important to consider which type of
penal system is most appropriate. While some believe that a system of fixed sentences should be
adopted, I support the view that punishments should be based on motives and circumstances.
Those who advocate implementing a judicial process of set punishments may argue that this would
make criminal trials more efficient. For example, once a jury has decided a particular defendant is
guilty of murder, the judge need only refer to the ‘punishment for murder’ to sentence that person
to life imprisonment. The benefit of this is that a huge amount of time would be saved in court, thus
leading to significant financial savings. As a result, more money could be spent on healthcare,
education and welfare.
However, I would argue that the above system is too rigid, and a process of ‘flexible’ punishments
is much fairer. The latter punishment system, which many countries use, leaves more room for
compassion toward offenders who have been blackmailed or manipulated. For instance, under this
system, if a thief is able to prove that he had been bullied into committing his crime, he should be
sentenced to less prison time than a thief who had been motivated by greed. If, instead, fixed
punishments were implemented, this sense of fairness and morality would be lost.
In conclusion, while a legal system of fixed punishments might be more cost-effective and efficient,
a procedure of assessing crimes based on circumstances and motives is more just, and justice, in
my view, is paramount.