Some people believe that university education should only be offered to those who can pay for their own courses and the government should not be expected to fund higher education. To what extent do you agree ?

In a number of countries, those at university have their degree courses funded by the government but many people nowadays assert that students should pay themselves. Whilst there are many reasons to justify such a viewpoint, I don’t entirely agree with it.

Firstly, the benefits of having a well-educated population are felt by all those in society. This is because the general population gains when there is a ready supply of good doctors, engineers, teachers and businesspeople who can contribute to the welfare of all. Therefore it seems fair that all members of society should contribute though a tax system in order to pay for such education.

Furthermore, it is important that those who train to undertake such roles are the most able and competent in the country. Should education be too expensive, it is likely that some of the most capable and talented young people may be discouraged from studying, especially if they happen to come from poorer background. Indeed, if the tax system is organized so that those earning more pay a higher level of tax, then probably most graduates will pay back a good deal into society over many years of work. Their education will help them get better employment so they will probably contribute more money over a lifetime.

It is also important to remember that an educated and cultured society is a civilized one and, in principle, I belive that education should be available to all young people and that their financial background should not hold them back.

In conclusion, while some people argue that government money should not be spent on the university education of individuals, I disagree entirely. I feel that society as a whole benefits from supporting students in higher education so the government should fund these costs.